101 NORTH CARSON STREET CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89701-3713 Office: (775) 684-5670



1 STATE OF NEVADA WAY LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89119-4339 Office: (702) 486-2500

Office of the Governor

June 10, 2025

The Honorable Francisco Aguilar Nevada Secretary of State 401 South Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Re: Senate Bill 85 of the 83rd Legislative Session

Dear Secretary of State Aguilar:

I am forwarding to you, for filing within the time limit set forth in the Nevada Constitution and without my approval, Senate Bill 85 ("SB 85"), which is titled as follows:

AN ACT relating to public safety; removing the prospective expiration of certain requirements relating to the recording, retention and review of information concerning traffic stops made by law enforcement officers; revising certain reporting requirements for law enforcement agencies and certain third parties with whom the Department of Public Safety contracts; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

While I recognize that the data collected under this bill has the potential to identify certain trends and improve law enforcement training, I cannot support SB 85. It is premature and unwise to make these reporting requirements permanent when, after three years of data collection, the Department of Public Safety has not yet received the analysis from the third-party entity authorized to conduct the initial data collection and review. Requiring a report that has yet to materialize undermines confidence in the effectiveness and accountability of the process. Before enshrining this mandate into permanent law, we should first ensure that the system in place is actually producing its intended results.

For these reasons, I veto this bill and return it to you without my signature or approval.

///

///

Respectfully submitted, JOE LOMBARDO

Governor of Nevada

Enclosure

The Honorable Stavros Anthony, President of the Senate (without enclosure) cc: The Honorable Nicole Cannizzaro, Senate Majority Leader (without enclosure) The Honorable Steve Yeager, Speaker of the Assembly (without enclosure) Brendan Bucy, Secretary of the Senate (without enclosure) Bonnie Borda Hoffecker, Chief Clerk of the Assembly (without enclosure) Diane Thornton, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Director (without enclosure) Asher Killian, Legislative Counsel Bureau, Legislative Counsel (without enclosure)